top of page

The Beating (The mental breakdown of Dakota Charleston)

- - Excerpt from ‘REZ’s EDGE’ by Brad Jensen

I walk past the sinks and the stalls, and pull up to the urinals that go from chest high to the floor. They're walls of white porcelain. Damn near tubs if they were laid down flat.

I unzip my pants, dig through the cotton of my briefs, pull out my penis and piss onto the white walls of porcelain. The yellow urine races down the smooth surface and pools somewhat at the bottom before swirling down the perforated silver drain just below my feet.

Down the drain. Life goes down the drain. A skull split open bleeds out and goes down the drain. The sucking sound of death. The sucking sound of a drain pipe swallows a life into the sewer.

I reach my hand up and hit the silver handle. Flush.

The cool water from the sink's faucet hits my hands. I lather with the soap and rinse. The cold wetness feels good. I cup my hands, fill them, bend over and push the coolness onto my face. Again, and again.

I look up, into the mirror. I see my face. Water dripping down my face. I see my father’s face. I see water dripping down my father’s face. I see clear water drops that cloud and turn dark red, dripping down my father’s face.

Someone walks into the bathroom. As footsteps walk behind me, I see a figure in the mirror with long dark braided hair and brown flesh go past, headed to the urinals.

I pivot, grab the back of his neck and drive his head into porcelain inside the piss fountain. I push his entire body into the urinal. His body curls up into a standing fetal position. Fists pound his shoulder, arm, and back.

“You killed him!,” I scream. “You f___ing killed him! You drunk mother-f___ers killed him! Murderer! Murderer! MURDERER!”

– from – ‘The REZ’s EDGE’ - “Destruction & Redemption” by author/writer Brad Jensen

FULL CHAPTER’s PRE-RELEASED (Read 4 Free - click link here) http://bradjensen.wix.com/authorbradjensen

Tumblr Link to Author Brad Jensen Blog, Rez's Edge, Ancestral, Novel, Book, YA, young, adult, teen, fiction, romance, racism, bully, Racially charged Fiction combining History, Drama, Suspense, Thrills, Grit, Guts, Action, Love, Hate, Soul, Romance & Realism
Instagram Link to Author Brad Jensen Pictures, Rez's Edge, Ancestral, Novel, Book, YA, young, adult, teen, fiction, romance, racism, bully, Racially charged Fiction combining History, Drama, Suspense, Thrills, Grit, Guts, Action, Love, Hate, Soul, Romance & Realism
Author Brad Jensen Goodreads Link to Rez's Edge Novel Book, YA, young, adult, teen, fiction, novel, book, romance, racism, bully, Racially charged Fiction combining History, Drama, Suspense, Thrills, Grit, Guts, Action, Love, Hate, Soul, Romance & Realism
Amino Books Link to Author Brad Jensen Profile Page, Rez's Edge, Ancestral, Novel, Book, YA, young, adult, teen, fiction, romance, racism, bully, Racially charged Fiction combining History, Drama, Suspense, Thrills, Grit, Guts, Action, Love, Hate, Soul, Romance & Realism

Share, Read, & Explore

Join The Adventure

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Facebook Social Icon
  • Google+ Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Pinterest Social Icon
  • Instagram-v051916
  • goodreads_icon_100x100-4a7d81b31d932cfc0be621ee15a14e70
bottom of page